Update Preview

So, I took tome screenshots of a couple of the new systems you can expect from my next update (when i do it)

And here they are…

 

Skill Upgrade:

 

Equipment Scene: (including unique equipment, equip levels, equip durability, ‘randomized’ equipment..)

There is also an improvement for this scene  (which i am currently scripting – just took a break to post this). I don’t wanna say too much, but it completely changes the look of the scene, for the better…

 

Actor Lantern / Basic Pokemon – Flash Style Light :

Anyway, thats that. Hope you enjoy the sneaky preview 🙂
Feel free to comment, positively or constructively..

22 responses

  1. That’s so awesome,I can’t wait for it…When it will come?

    March 11, 2014 at 19:25

    • Its hard to say.
      I recently transferred all my scripts into a fresh project to ensure that there was no issues. I found some issues and have been working my way through them.

      My aim is to release the updates before the end of this month; however, that isnt taking into account any further setbacks.
      Hopefully it’s sooner rather than later 🙂

      March 11, 2014 at 19:35

  2. DarchanKaen

    Great!
    Will we see some sneaky preview about battle process? Screens or video / GIF?

    March 11, 2014 at 20:10

    • Probably not im afraid.
      The battle system is the largest of the new scripts and there are still quite a few things i need to add to it.
      I’ve been fixing all the little bugs i found within all my other scripts (the released ones) so havent done as much with the battle system as i would like, but im almost there and when its done, I will be releasing some screenshots. The script will also be available at that time, so the screenshots arent really as important lol

      March 11, 2014 at 21:41

  3. DarchanKaen

    Yeah, i undersnatd. But…can you release Skill Upgrade script stendalone, without ABS? (while he ready).

    March 12, 2014 at 07:43

  4. I will already be releasing the new scripts before the ABS is finished 🙂
    The skill upgrade script is missing one feature, which i have yet to begin to code and one of my friends who tested the script reported a bug with gaining skill points, which hasnt been figured out yet. Obviously not gaining the points is a huge thing as they are needed to upgrade skills.

    The script is also VERY complex and requires quite a large amount of customization before you can use it. If I released it now, the customization would be too difficult to understand for most people, but when I release it in my master demo, you wll be able to see clearly how I done the scene ^_^

    I got a large portion of work done yesterday and I hope to do the same today. I am currently on track for releasing the scripts well before the end of the month 🙂

    March 12, 2014 at 12:36

  5. DarchanKaen

    Thanks, its a good news. I wait for it and i will try understand SU-script.

    March 12, 2014 at 20:44

  6. Ahhh, skill tree style script. That is excellent, that looks like a lot more fun than the way I’ve been using Yanfly’s to do skill trees, haha. Not to mention it looks like it would mesh better with your distribute and status screens which I am I a fan of. ;D

    And that light script though. I’ve been using Victor’s but it lags me! Maybe yours won’t… XD Here’s hoping. Can’t wait to see all of this put together in a demo, I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out for that.

    (At this rate I have to wonder if your scripts will just end up replacing all the scripts I have, lmao)

    March 12, 2014 at 22:03

    • Lol I am pleased that you have found use for my scripts.

      The skill tree script is quite complex if you arent used to vast customization as you have to set up each possible skill. You decide its position on screen and what happens when you press left/right/up/down, for example…

      With regards to the light script. It doesnt really cause lag at all as it is very very basic. I going to add a little more complexity into it before i release it, but as it stands, my game runs at 60FPS almost constantly. (keep in mind I have various HUD’s, Key checks, stat calculations, and an ABS running into the bargain – like, all my scripts lol)

      I just updated some screenshots on the $D13x Engine page. It shows some new screenshots and I included a list of “Unreleased Scripts” at the bottom of the page (under the currently released scripts)
      https://dekitarpg.wordpress.com/d13x-engine/

      March 12, 2014 at 22:48

      • Ah, but I LIKE customization. >:D I’ll admit I was daunted by your stat distribution script the first time I looked at it but then I realized that, in the end, it’s just a matter of reading instructions and following directions, hehe. You’re good at explaining things in your scripts. :3

        I look forward to trying out different things with the tree script. Will there be options for multiple pages for multiple trees on the same actor/class?

        March 12, 2014 at 22:55

  7. Yea,if its your first time using some of my scripts it can be quite daunting. Imagine how I feel when I begin coding thing like that…

    Sometimes, I’ve sat in front of my computer for numerous hours just looking at an empty script page. Other time’s I just start writing code that does various things and then combine them followed by the all important optimization/confuse the shit out of the reader process ^_^

    If you ever looked at the unique equipment beta I included in my old master demo, it literally makes your eyes water. Again though, its just a matter of reading and following instructions to customize it. To be honest, I still get confused with that script and forget that I can literally add ANY feature onto equipment… Not amusing when you start properly data-basing…

    Unfortunately, there is not a feature for multiple skill tree’s for each actor; however, it is something I have been considering for a week or so. Personally, I would use that feature myself in my own game, so it seems likely it will be added eventually. I’m just trying to concentrate on releasing the updates at this time. Once that’s done, it will be much easier to make small modifications to each script.

    Actually, that being said… It does have the feature of each class having its own skill tree. So i suppose if you changed class then your skill tree would change.. You would still know all the skills that you learned as the other class though.

    March 12, 2014 at 23:16

    • Yeah, I imagine it’s pretty hard for you to work on scripts, considering the size of some of them. Though the way you describe your time making them sounds like how I get when working on my game. I have a whole list of things I want done but sometimes I just start fooling around instead of actually getting something done, when other times I can spend an entire night just creating a list of enemies for a dungeon.

      I think you’re right to go ahead and focus on just releasing a working version of the scripts you can (The list of upcoming scripts all look really cool).

      Adding a feature that lets you apply multiple skill trees to the same class can come later, or perhaps just a method to change classes during the scene quick-and-easy to make it ‘seem’ like you’re just changing skill trees. In reality though, I figure a single tree would still be just as good for a creative mind. Just that multiple trees would give the player even MOAR customization on how to experience their character’s growth.

      Without going into detail, I’m currently trying to make it so that the player has as much control over their character’s growth as possible, such as making a fragile mage into a tanky front liner, at the cost of their high damage magic being low damage. 😛 lol (It makes sense in context, just don’t want to go into a full spiel on your blog. Just giving an example of how multiple skill trees would be cool for the player if the developer is creative~)

      On a separate note, the unique equipment thing seems really cool too. XD Though I don’t fully understand what it is yet, so I’ll have to check out what it’s truly about once you release it. :3

      March 13, 2014 at 00:16

      • I have the same views on character progression it would seem.

        For my own project (one actor party all the way through – with some cool unique features, dont want to go into detail about that yet though) I want to have the player choose exactly how they grow. If they like fire, they can become more adept in the ways of ‘ifrit’ at the cost of becoming more susceptible to other elements, such as water/ice.

        I already have numerous ways of controlling all stats (no status effects though); ispds, stat control, ele control, atk / def lvs, dev slud, stat formulas, equip sets and skill upgrade JUST TO NAME A FEW!!

        Speaking of, how have you been getting on with the stat formula script ?

        March 13, 2014 at 01:01

  8. Ahh, your game sounds like it’ll be fun. >:3 But for mine, I’m keeping the classic turn-based battle system so I’ll have more than just one person. Maybe I’m trying to do too much by having the player able to customize a whole set of characters though. 😛

    And yeah, all those customizations from your scripts, that’s what keeps me coming back~! When I found out you upgraded to the ISPDS I was extremely excited. Now everyone has their OWN set of stats! XD It made me almost consider trying to do away with the base stats completely but that just seems like… a bad idea. lol

    The stat formulas is working exactly as it should, far as I’ve come to tell. There’s been some interesting results in some places, such as setting my formula for REC to be based on MDF, and when I cut back the base MDF at one point for testing, I forgot to fix the formula to match and it resulted in people starting with less than 100% and I thought my potions were broken… XD But yeah, as far as I have used it, it has been working good.

    I am happy that I can easily establish agile enemies as being harder to hit, and crit chance ties directly into the Luck stat. I’ve also tied Luck into Atk/Def levels. (My main thing with the Luck stat is that I’m using it for something entirely unrelated to “intended” uses for that stat, so having something to make increasing Luck be incredibly rewarding is helpful beyond helpful since every single point is hard to get)

    March 13, 2014 at 02:43

    • Oh I also use the param formula script to alter the floor damage rate to be based on maximum HP instead of always being precisely the same number, because then I can make poison floors actually threatening without being over-punishing.

      March 13, 2014 at 02:50

  9. I love the ingenious ways that people utilize the features in my scripts 😀

    It sounds like you enjoy the flexibility that my scripts come with. I also like the way you tied luck into atk/def levels, thats pretty cool 🙂

    A ~NEW~ Script just got uploaded, for ‘Advanced Battle Weather…
    This allows you to modify an actor (or enemy’s) stats based on the current weather, which can now be shown in battle !! Most definitely worth a look if you like my other scripts ^_^

    March 13, 2014 at 02:50

  10. Well the flexibility makes it feel like I can make something unique that others haven’t used, or at the very least, it won’t look identical to someone else’s game. It’s exciting for that, and also since I can fiddle around with it I eventually can achieve results that I’m looking for. For example, figuring out how to apply a Boxer’s fist strength and leg abilities to differentiate what you focus on: heavy weight striking or light weight maneuvering. By fiddling with this enough, I’ve created a system where my character can be heavy or light weight division. XD (Even though, obviously, there’s no actual graphical difference, just different skills and such)

    So yeah, that’s just a quarter of one example of what I’ve done with just your ISPDS. 😛 You don’t even want to get me started on my Blood Mage character… hahaha

    March 13, 2014 at 05:51

  11. i really can’t wait for your next release …

    will the skill upgrade system support passive skill ?
    e.g. skill that increase the HP or ATT of the actor..

    March 14, 2014 at 14:45

    • That depends. For buff skills the answer is no. For a skill that is truly passive, that gives a stat just by earning it (using my other scripts, like stat control/element control) the answer is yes.

      The skill upgrade script is very simple features, but can be very confusing to setup properly.

      It requires my Skill Levels script (im currently trying to make it work standalone as well) and it combines the features from all my stat modification scripts with skill levels and simply allows for skills to be earned based on requirements (requirement are done by skill requirement script). Skills can require another skill at a certain level before it is learned for example.

      Wen you already know a skill, you can upgrade to the next level if you meet the requirements, which also increase each time you level the skill.

      I think this answers your question ? lol

      March 14, 2014 at 14:50

  12. I saw once through your pictures some gems socketed on equips, will you release in your next updates a script like that?

    March 14, 2014 at 19:27

  13. First I haven’t looked for the post but now I found it https://dekitarpg.wordpress.com/2013/03/07/d13x-progress/ and this is what I’m talking about.

    March 14, 2014 at 19:37

  14. You’re quite observant. Unfortunately, the short answer if no. The Sockets Portion of the system has not been completed.
    As you can imagine, with so many modifications going on at once – against items that where made to be un-modifiable , I have encountered many many bugs.

    I have narrowed it down to the ones that actually work ‘bug free’ just so I can post an update. Once I have done that, I will be concentrating on the Equipment Sockets.

    Funnily enough, I mae many icons today for the gemstones that will be used in that system 🙂

    March 14, 2014 at 20:16

Leave a Reply

